Sleeping Warrior

Image

I gaze across the stone grey sea

Across to the island where you now lie

I watch in wonder: I wait now to be

The one adoring the sleeping big guy –

The fellow who guards Scotland’s West coast

Lying still on the ridge of Arrans high peak

Protesting the shores and the lands we boast

Are the fairest by far whenever we speak

We owe much to protection silently giv’n

And I watch you now fascinated, in awe

As you lie looking up high toward heaven

I walk on the beach and think of my beau

Who, like you guarded these coasts just for me

And all those folk who live by the sea.

SA

This entry was posted in Poetry.

Leave a Reply

